Chapter honors local heroes, commemorates 100 years


A spread of warm biscuits, fresh fruit, fluffy eggs, and steamy coffee greeted the guests who entered The Rose Hill Plantation Conference Center early June 1 for the Red Cross Northeastern NC Chapter Centennial Breakfast.

The breakfast celebrated the chapter’s centennial and recognized local volunteers with “HERO Awards.” Recipients demonstrated the seven fundamental principles of the American Red Cross: Humanity, Impartiality, Neutrality, Independence, Voluntary Service, Unity and Universality.

This year’s recipients include: Dr. Richard G. Michal, Jean Bailey, the Rocky Mount Fire Department’s Swiftwater Rescue Team & Hilo Aquatic Rescue Team, and the United Way Tar River Region.


Ann Mosley presents the Norma Turnage Award to Jean Bailey, Thursday, June. 1, 2017.  (Photo by Garry Hodges)

Michal received the Red Cross HERO Award, commemorating his service both in the local community and internationally.

“He gives back so much behind the scenes that people don’t see,” said Amanda Bell, Michal’s colleague.

The Norma Turnage Award, presented to Jean Bailey,  a female leader in the community dedicated to the growth and sustainability of the local Red Cross.

“[Bailey] has been the most loyal and dedicated leader for 50 years,” said Ann Mosley, Red Cross board member.

The Community Hero Award recipients included the Rocky Mount Fire Department’s Swiftwater Rescue Team & Hilo Aquatic Rescue Team, and the United Way Tar River Region for their long-standing services to the community and for their recent contributions to the Hurricane Matthew response.


The Centennial Breakfast took place at The Rose Hill Plantation and Conference Center, Thursday, June 1, 2017. (Photo by Garry Hodges)

“It’s humbling to receive this award, but it’s part of our job,”said Chad Pridgon, member of the Swiftwater Rescue Team.

Along with honoring the services of those in the community, the event also marked the 100 year anniversary of the Northeastern NC Chapter. The chapter has served the community through disaster services; blood collection; health and safety classes; and services to the armed forces. Barry Porter, CEO of the Eastern North Carolina region of the Red Cross, began the morning with a remembrance of the founding heroes Henri Dunant and Clara Barton.

Last year, the Northeastern NC Chapter collected 24,418 pints of blood, conducted 331 emergency services for those in the military community, trained about 3,500 people in preparedness courses, and responded to an estimated 270 disasters, including one of the worst disasters in North Carolina: Hurricane Matthew.

The event served as a formal thank you to both the past and present heroes, volunteers and staff alike, who have carried out the Red Cross mission for the past century.

Story by Andrea Gulley/American Red Cross


Cape Fear Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony

WILMINGTON, NC, June 13, 2013 The American Red Cross – Cape Fear Chapter held its 104th Annual Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony on June 11, 2013, at the Main Library in downtown Wilmington. More than 40 community members attended the event which included highlights of the vital programs and services provided by the local Red Cross to Cape Fear area residents during the current fiscal year.  Pictures from the event can be found on the Cape Fear Chapter Facebook page. Special recognition was given to the following award recipients for their exceptional service:

Executive Director, Vicki LaBelle, receives the Employee of the Year Award

Executive Director, Vicki LaBelle, receives the Employee of the Year Award

Outstanding Youth Volunteer Award

Abby Bowman

Services to Armed Forces Award

Bill Ritenour

Blood Services Support Award

Mary Jo Conlogue

Disaster Services Award

Chuck Thurlow

Chapter Support Services Award

Bev Murtaugh

Employee Excellence Award

Vicki LaBelle

Volunteer Leadership Award

Debra Duna and Mike Seigh

Outstanding Community Partner Award

Brunswick County Emergency Services

Tiffany Circle Recognition

Jessica and Monica Watson

Blood Donor Recognition

James Mahony – 10+ gallons

William Roesink – 13 gallons

Ruth Jordan – 13+ gallons

Susan Jackson – 13+ gallons

Stephen Abarno – 15 gallons

Klaus Schagat – 15+ gallons

Worth Olive – 17+ gallons

William Cottingham – 16 gallons

Lee Pierce – 16 gallons

David Eggleston – 16+ gallons

James Stasios – 23+ gallons

Carole Bryant – 50 gallons

Additionally, the Cape Fear Chapter unanimously elected its 2013-14 Board of Directors officers and members.  The following leadership team will take office on July 1, 2013.

Officers: Bradley Coxe, Chairman; Brad Barth, Vice Chair I & Board Development Committee Chair; Peggy O’Leary, Vice Chair II & Philanthropy Committee Chair; Connie Reeves, Secretary; Larry Matheny, Immediate Past Chairman

Members At Large:  Kent Anderson, Kathleen Baylies, Craig Chancellor, Jay Briley, Drew Haley, Yvonne Hughes, John Roberts, Dr. Andrew Simpson, Nolan Smith, and Tony Stroud

About the American Red Cross:
The American Red Cross shelters, feeds and provides emotional support to victims of disasters; supplies about 40 percent of the nation’s blood; teaches skills that save lives; provides international humanitarian aid; and supports military members and their families. The Red Cross is a not-for-profit organization that depends on volunteers and the generosity of the American public to perform its mission. For more information, please visit or join our blog at The Cape Fear Chapter serves Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, New Hanover and Pender counties in southeastern North Carolina.